When you learn how to write in school for any project they say, “DO NOT PLAGIARIZE” What they don’t tell you is when you are in your everyday life you draw from your surroundings. So, that means when a writer tells you that you shouldn’t make them mad or they will kill you off in a story, know that they actually will. No, what that actually means is that as a writer, a passing conversation or even a television show could be a newly inspired book.

I have pulled inspiration recently from an unexpected source, the television show, Breaking Bad. I know what you are thinking, how could my genre of books even remotely be inspired by a TV show about making drugs. Well my second in my Dangerous series has an element of “crime family” and my heroine, Trish, is a financial advisor. For those of you who have watched Breaking Bad, know that Walter’s wife, Skyler is an accountant. In the episode I was watching she was asked to save her previous employer from tax fraud. Ironically, this is the direction I was being led to take Trish down a similar path. I just didn’t know how to go about it. I found myself actually taking notes while watching one of my husband’s favorite TV shows that I watch just to be a good wife.

Thanks to my dad and my daughter for being up-to-date on current Netflix movies. I actually was able to use a recent movie, To The Bone, as research on eating disorders. *Spoiler Alert* One of my characters has suffered from an eating disorder. This is something I don’t know that much about besides what I learned in High School health class. I’m a writer who wants to keep my writing fiction, but believable. So I do whatever research necessary to bring it as close to par as I can for my readers.

So the next time you see something that you think, hey that would make a great story. Don’t wait for someone else to write it. Go out on a limb and write it yourself. Because writing is a choice and anyone can choose to write. Do it for fun and do it for you if nothing else. Don’t let the inspiration go to waste. Everyone has a muse in some way. Let him/her do their job and inspire you!

cropped inspriation

8 thoughts on “Inspiration comes from EVERYWHERE

    1. I’ve learned writers block is what we make it. I have found that if i just can’t push through a section i can pickup another section that I have a better idea about and work on that until the block is gone. Then I can go back and fill in from where I skipped.

      Like

Leave a comment